Do Twizzlers have gelatin? It is a question that many people are asking, especially since there are so many different types of candy on the market. It can be challenging to determine which ones are vegan and contain animal products. In this blog post, we will answer the question of whether or not Twizzlers have gelatin. We will also discuss Twizzlers’ ingredients and whether they are vegan-friendly.

Do Twizzlers have gelatin?

The answer is

No, gelatin is a protein derived from animal collagen and is not present in Twizzlers. However, Twizzlers do contain other ingredients that may not be vegan-friendly. These include sugar, corn syrup, palm oil, and artificial flavors.

While some vegans may consume products that contain these ingredients, others may not. It is up to the individual to decide what they are comfortable with consuming.

Is Twizzlers vegan?

Most Twizzlers do not contain gelatin or any other animal product as such. However, the ingredients used may not be vegan-friendly. However, Twizzlers like Red Vines, Panda, and Wiley Wallabies are vegan.

According to Wikipedia, Licorice candies are flavored with the licorice plant Glycyrrhiza glabra extract. Ingredients used to make licorice confectionery are sugar, licorice, and binder. Base ingredients are starch/flour, gum arabic or gelatin, or a combination of both. Additional flavoring and ingredients like beeswax for shily surfaces, ammonium chloride, and molasses may be present in the candies.

Some varieties may contain gelatine and are unsuitable for vegetarians and vegans. So, we must look into different brands and products to determine whether the Twizzlers are vegan.

Ingredients of Twizzlers

  • Sugar
  • Corn syrup
  • Palm oil
  • Artificial flavors
  • Lecithin
  • Cornstarch

Non-vegan ingredients in Twizzlers

Most of the colors used are considered vegan as they are not animal-derived. So it may not be a problem for vegans and vegetarians. But for stricter vegans, these ingredients may not be an option. Food colors are plant-derived, but they are tested on animals.

The non-vegan color used is Caramine which is made from beetles. It is known as red 4. However, the red color used in making Twizzlers is from red40, a vegan dye.

Flavorings in Twizzlers

Typically the flavors used in Twizzlers are of plant origin. However, sometimes they may be from non-vegan resources. In this case, they are highlighted to ensure the customers.


As such, sugar is vegan-friendly. The only problem is that sugar is processed using bone char to give it a white color. Bone char is not present in sugar, but the processing method may be an issue. In addition, it is a controversial ingredient in the vegan community.

Almost all candy contains sugar as an ingredient. But it is not stated which type of sugar it has. This may be a problem for a strict vegan.


Chocolate used in chocolate Twizzlers may contain dairy. Always read the ingredients list as it is always mentioned on wrappers.


Glycerine is derived from plant sources as well as animal sources. Though most of the glycerine used in the food industry is sourced from plants, it is specified on the website that Hershey’s uses plant-derived glycerine.

Vegan-friendly Twizzlers products

Strawberry candy

  • Corn Syrup,
  • Sugar, Cornstarch,
  • Enriched Wheat Flour (Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, and Folic Acid),
  • Contains 2% or Less of:
  • Salt, Artificial Flavor, Mono and Diglycerides, Citric Acid, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Artificial Color (Red 40), Mineral Oil, Soy Lecithin, 

Pull-n-Peel Cherry

  • Corn Syrup,
  • Wheat Flour and Sugar,
  • Contain 2% or less of
  • Palm Oil,
  • Glyceryl Monostearate,
  • Salt,
  • Cornstarch,
  • Glycerin,
  • Artificial Flavor,
  • Citric Acid,
  • Potassium Sorbate (Preservative) and Artificial Color (Red 40).

Bites Cherry

  • Corn syrup,
  • enriched wheat flour (flour, niacin, ferrous sulfate, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, and folic acid),
  • sugar, corn starch, palm oil,
  • contains less than 2% of salt,
  • natural and artificial flavors,
  • citric acid,
  • potassium sorbate (preservative), artificial color (red 40), sulfur dioxide to maintain freshness, mineral oil, and soy lecithin.


  • Corn Syrup
  • Enriched Wheat Flour (Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid)
  • Sugar
  • Cornstarch
  • Contains 2% or Less of:
  • Licorice Extract
  • Palm Oil
  • Salt
  • Natural Flavor
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Artificial Color (Red 40, Blue 1)
  • Mineral Oil
  • Lecithin

Twizzler Chocolate

  • Corn Syrup
  • Enriched Wheat Flour (Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid)
  • Sugar
  • Chocolate
  • Cornstarch
  • Contains 2% or Less: Salt, Artificial Flavor, Mineral Oil

Is Twizzlers healthy?

The jury is still out on whether or not Twizzlers are healthy. Some people argue that they are not because of the sugar and corn syrup content. Others say they are because they contain no fat. Ultimately, it is up to the individual to decide whether or not they want to consume Twizzlers. There are both vegan and non-vegan varieties available on the market.

Are red vines vegan?

Yes, Red Vines are vegan. They do not contain any animal products or by-products. The ingredients in Red Vines are sugar, corn syrup, Citric Acid, and artificial flavor. Some vegans may not consume products that contain artificial flavors, but this is up to the individual.

Are Twizzlers-filled twists vegan?

Yes, Twizzlers-filled twists are vegan. Here are the ingredients that are used to prepare twists.


  • Corn Syrup
  • Sugar
  • Enriched Wheat Flour (Flour, Niacin, Ferrous Sulfate, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid)
  • Vegetable Oil (Palm Oil, Palm Kernel Oil)
  • Contains 2% or Less of:
  • Citric Acid
  • Modified Potato Starch
  • Glyceryl Monostearate
  • Sodium Lactate
  • Natural Flavor
  • Artificial Flavor
  • Salt
  • Cornstarch
  • Glycerin
  • Lecithin
  • Mineral Oil
  • Carrageenan
  • Artificial Color (Red 40, Yellow 5)
  • Potassium Sorbate
  • Carnauba Wax
do twizzlers have gelatin

Do Twizzlers Contain Dairy?

The original Twizzler candy does not contain dairy ingredients. However, it’s crucial always to check the packaging of the specific Twizzler product you are considering, as recipes and ingredients can change, and there might be different varieties of Twizzlers on the market, each with its ingredient list.

Always look for the most recent packaging or check the manufacturer’s official website for the latest and most accurate information regarding ingredients, especially if you have dietary restrictions or allergies.

Can you eat raw mushrooms in Salad?

 How to tell if the non-stick pan is ruined?

Can you eat raw ginger? Benefits of eating raw ginger.